FAIR Awards 2013


DEADLINE EXTENDED: 30 December 2013

We are pleased to announce the opening of the 2013 African Investigative Journalism Awards hosted by FAIR. There is a first prize of US$ 1,000 for an overall winner of Best African Investigative Story and ten new categories with prizes for both winners and runners-up.

Following suggestions from our past AGM and previous Awards, FAIR revised the competition by adding new categories to enable more journalists to enter. The FAIR Awards are open to all African based journalists from print, online, radio and television media.

Categories in 2013 includes:

  1. Health
  2. Culture
  3. Elections and Politics
  4. Ecology and Environment
  5. Corporate Business and Finance
  6. Investigative commentary/Analysis
  7. Photojournalism
  8. Philanthropy
  9. War and conflict
  10. Sport

Prize money will be awarded after all entries have been reviewed by an independent jury, as follows:

  • Overall Winner,  Best African Investigative Story – US$ 1,000
  • 10 Category Winners – US$ 500
  • 10 Category Runners up – US$ 250 

The deadline for entries is 30 December 2013. Please submit your story by email to admin@fairreporters.org.

Read the FAIR Awards Rules for entry requirements: http://fairreporters.net/awards/ij-awards-rules/

The Award ceremony will be held in February 2014. More details about the location and date will be announced.

Best wishes to all entrants. We look forward to your submission.

Read more:

FAIR Awards 2012

Awards winners 2012 FAIR Jhb

FAIR Awards 2011

FAIR Awards evening

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Forum for African Investigative Reporters