Newsletter: May 2013


List of winning  proposals will be published soon. FAIR thanks SIDA for supporting the Grants Fund. A special website will showcase investigative content produced under the Small  Grants programme 2013.Small Grant finalists 2013

  1. Stanley Kwenda –                 Zimbabwe
  2. Rosemary Nwaebuni –       Nigeria
  3. Sarah Mawarere –                Uganda
  4. Eudias Kigai  –                        Kenya
  5. Lazaro Mabunda –               Mozambique
  6. Nayera Elsheiref                 Egypt
  7. Evelyn Kpadeh                    Liberia
  8. John Grobler                       Namibia
  9. Kgwadu G Kgwadu             Botswana
  10. Dann Okoth                           Kenya
  11. Rachel Niinsima                 Uganda
  12. Patrick Mayoyo                  Kenya
  13. Estacio Valoi                        Mozambique
  14. David Njagi                           Kenya
  15. Noor Ali                                 Kenya
  16. Nabawia Dawood               Sudan
  17. Abjata Khalif                        Kenya
  18. Samuel Boadi                       Ghana
  19. Amine Amara                      Algeria
  20. Hasna Belmekki                  Morocco
  21. Jean Claude Dossa             Benin
  22. Mahad Diriye                       Kenya
  23. Blame Ekoue                        Togo
  24. Mukelwa Hlatshwayo       South Africa
  25. Ekow Mensah                      Ghana
  26. Nhau Mangirazi                  Zimbabwe
  27. John Namu                          Kenya
  28. Fiona MacCloed                 South African
  29. Wanjohi Kabukuru            Kenya
  30. Franck Njimba                    Gabon
  31. Tunicia Philips                    South Africa
  32. Angelo Izama                     Uganda
  33. Collins Mtika                       Malawi
  34. Daniel Nzohabona            Rwanda
  35. Soumalia Diarra                 Mali
  36. Kennedy Obara                  Kenya
  37. Leocadia  Jisi
  38. Sani Tukur
  39. Kenneth Okpomo
  40. Moses Garbee Kollie
  42. Charles King,                    South Africa
  43. Muhammed Slimani,     Morocco
  44. Rafael Marquez,              Angola 
  45. Jessica Lomelin,             South Africa
  46. Pascal Andriantsoa,      Madagascar
  47. Christophe Assogba,     Benin


Reporters Without Borders (RSF) names 39 leaders and groups as ‘Predators of Freedom of Information’

On World Press Freedom Day, Reporters Without Borders released an updated list of 39 ‘Predators of Freedom of Information’ ¬– presidents, politicians, religious leaders, militias and criminal organizations that censor, imprison, kidnap, torture and kill journalists and other news providers. Powerful, dangerous and violent, these predators consider themselves above the law. Physical attacks on journalists and murders of journalists usually go completely unpunished. This encourages the predators to continue their violations of human rights and freedom of information. Download the RSF report 

Getting Away With Murder: CPJ’s 2013 Impunity Index spotlights countries where journalists are slain and the killers go free

The Impunity Index, published annually, identifies countries where journalists are murdered regularly and governments fail to solve the crimes. The 2013 index examines journalist murders that occurred from January 2003 through December 2012, and remain unsolved. In 2012, CPJ launched to mobilize the online community to fight impunity in the digital space. Read The Index 

Other Press Freedom news

Nigeria’s impunity ranking: Facts don’t lie
Burundi reporter shot by police for seeking information
In Eskinder case, politicized verdict undermines Ethiopia
Somaliland official says media owner attacked by police
• Investigative journalists threatened in Kenya


Registration opens for Global Investigative Conference

Registration is now open for the 8th Global Investigative Journalism Conference to be held in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) during 12 to 15 October 2013. The GIJC is offering a limited number of travel grants for journalists in developing countries. Read more about the conference.  Register online 

Global Shining Light Award Nominations Open

In October 2013, the Global Investigative Journalism Conference will again present the Global Shining Light Award, a unique award which honors investigative reporting in a developing or transitioning country, done under threat, duress, or in the direst of conditions. The winner receives an honorary plaque, US$1,000, and a free trip to the Global Conference. Deadline for submissions is June 15, 2013. Send your entries by email to


FAIR invites African based Investigative journalists to submit story proposals on the following topics:

1. ‘War on Terror’ in Africa
2. China in Africa
3. Illicit Trafficking in Africa

The FAIR Commissioning Editor, in consultation with FAIR director, Board, regional mentors and partners, will assemble the investigative team on the basis of the most viable story plans per region and country. Send your e-mail to:


ZAM Chronicle launched

ZAM Chronicle is a monthly online ZAM news initiative meant to highlight new and critical investigating, thinking and creative reflection around issues to do with Africa and the world. ZAM Chronicle will focus on the global meaning of African discourse and experiences: black and white, rich and poor, male and female, tradition and change. Founded in 1997 and based in Amsterdam, ZAM is rooted in a heritage of anti-apartheid activism, provocative journalism and artistic expression. Read the ZERO issue online. 

Follow us on Twitter: @fairreporters

Submit your membership form online 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s